Geelong Senior Team 1951 (SLV 122_182)

Charles Boyles Collection SLV
Link to Photo at SLV Website
SLV Accession no. H2008.122/182

Team: Geelong (VFL)
Location: Glenferrie Oval (Hawthorn)
Date: 1951

Back Row: Russell Middlemiss, Bruce Morrison, Tom Morrow, Jim Norman, Russell Renfrey, John Hyde, Loy Stewart, Alan Hickenbotham
Middle Row: Bob Davis, Leo Turner, Fred Flanagan (captain), Bernie Smith, Cyril McMaster, Syd Tate
Front Row: Terry Fulton, Neil Trezise, Peter Pianto, George Goninon


This is a photo of the Geelong (VFL) senior team of 1951, the year of the club’s fourth VFL premiership. They are shown before stepping out to play Hawthorn in the final home and away match of that season. The grandstand in the background is the old wooden stand at Glenferrie Oval. The same construction appears in 122_126 - Probably Essendon Seconds team - circa 1939.

Round: 18. Venue: Glenferrie Oval. Date: Saturday, 01-September-1951.
Hawthorn 5. 8 (38)
Geelong 10. 10 (70)

Further Work Needed


Duplicates - Near Identical Photos

What's New

More Articles

Ken and Michael are proud members of the Australian Football Heritage Group (AFHG)
This site is an independent creation. Site content and views expressed are personal and are not endorsed by the AFHG.

Read our comments regarding Sharing Your Football Memorabilia - Donating Items to your Club


Boyles Photos by Year//Interesting Games
1890s, 1900s, 1910s, 1920s, 1930s, 1940s, 1950s, 1960s

Outside Football

General links to footballers' occupations and links to other sports.
Links to Outside Football